top of page
Search

🍓Strawberry Mochi Cake 🍰 (Inspired by Lawson)

Updated: Jan 15, 2020


Strawberry Mochi Cake
Strawberry Mochi Cake

Strawberry Mochi Cake in Lawson China
Strawberry Mochi Cake in Lawson China

While I was travelling in China last month, I bought this strawberry mochi cake/bun from a Lawson store in China. And I was really amazed by the this combo of cake, cream, fruits all wrapped up with a chewy mochi skin! I truly miss the flavours and the texture when I returned, so I thought I might give it go!


Formula: Strawberry Mochi Wrap + Fluffy Cake + Whipped Cream + Fresh Strawberries









Please subscribe and like my videos at http://bit.ly/bakebudchannel so I know people actually like what I baked and filmed ❤️


INGREDIENTS


Fluffy Cake -

Flour 90g, Baking powder 3g, Oil 20g, Eggs 4, Milk 66g, Sugar 60g


Strawberry Mochi Skin -

Glutinous Rice Flour 130g, Corn Flour 10g, Sugar 30g, Milk 210g, Strawberry Powder 20g, Butter 15g


Cream -

Fresh Cream 250g, Icing Sugar 25g


Fresh Strawberries - diced, as much as you like!


STEPS


Fluffy Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 160C

  2. Separate the eggsAdd oil into the yolks, shake the bowl gently to cover the yolks with oil, mix well

  3. Add milk, flour and baking powder (sifted) gradually into the yolks, mix wellBeat egg whites until foamy high speed

  4. Add sugar gradually (3 times)

  5. Beat egg whites until stiff peak forms, set aside

  6. Gentle fold the egg white meringue into the yolk batter (remember to do it gently to get that fluffiness)

  7. Spread the batter evenly into a pan, tap to release large air bubbles (I couldn't find my scraper, so I used a spatula, if you have a scraper, you will get nicer surface than I did 😉)

  8. Bake at 160C for 20mins

  9. Tap to knock out air inside the cake and set aside to cool

Strawberry Mochi Wrap

  1. Sift glutinous rice flour and corn flour

  2. Add sugar and milk, mix well

  3. Microwave the mixture on high heat for 2 mins

  4. Gently whisk the mixture, put it back into the microwave for another minute

  5. Add in butter, once the butter is melted, mix in with the spongy mochi dough

  6. Cool down in fridge

Cream

  1. Add in icing sugar into cream

  2. Beat it until it thickens

**Feel free to add matcha powder/cocoa powder!


Assembling

  1. Use microwave to heat up (15 secs) some glutinous rice flour as 'hand powder' to prevent sticky-ness when you roll the dough

  2. Seperate the mochi dough into smaller size, and roll them out! I used a baking mat with some circle there as a guide, otherwise I might end up rolling them into a giant rectangle shape...lol

  3. Lay the mochi wrap over a small bowl, then you put in cream, strawberries and cake

  4. Wrap them up! The mochi wrap is delicate, the thinner you roll it into, easier to break, BUT as long as you wrap it slowly and gently, you will be fine.

Weekend is just around the corner and I hope you all will have fun making this Mochi cake/bun (I still don't know whether I should call it cake or bun 🧐) ❤️❤️❤️❤️


104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page